Netherlands announced the squad for T20 World Cup 2016 – Scooptimes

Netherlands announced their 15-member squad on Saturday for the upcoming T20 World Cup which will be held in India from March 8 to April 3.

In 2014 T20 World Cup which was held in Bangladesh, Netherlands performed well and won our hearts. They finished top in the preliminary group stage round after dramatically winning their final preliminary match against Ireland. They chased down a huge total of 190 runs in just 14 overs to get the spot in Super 10 round.

Later, In the Super 10 round, they performed well against the top teams. They were very close to beating South Africa but they failed.

Netherlands coach Anton Roux said, “This group has shown an immense amount of commitment to what we are trying to achieve on the field of play.”

Peter Borren, who lead Netherlands team in 2014 World Cup, remains the Caption in this World Cup. Former South African all-rounder Van der Merwe will play for Netherlands, he becomes the second player to play for two countries in World Cup T20. Dirk Nannes was the first player to play for both Australia and Netherlands in Twenty20 World Cup.

In preliminary group stage of 2016 T20 World Cup, Netherlands are in Group A along with Bangladesh, Oman and Ireland. Netherlands will face Bangladesh on March 9 while next two matches will be played against Oman and Ireland on March 11 and March 13 respectively. All of these matches will be played at Dharmasala.

If Netherlands finishes top in the preliminary group state, they will earn the spot in Super 10 stage where they take part with Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan and host team India.

Netherlands Squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2016 : Peter Borren (captain), Wesley Barresi, Logan van Beek, Mudassar Bukhari, Ben Cooper, Timm van der Gugten, Vivian Kingma, Ahsan Malik, Paul Meekeren, Roelof van der Merwe, Stephan Myburgh, Max O’Dowd, Michael Rippon, Pieter Seelaar, Sikander Zulfiqar.