New Zealand squad for ODI series against Bangladesh – Scooptimes

The New Zealand Cricket announced the 13-member squad for the ODI series against Bangladesh. Bangladesh will tour New Zealand for long season. They will play 3 ODIs, 3 T20Is and 2 Tests. The tour starts with first ODI on 25th December at Christchurch.

They named Neil Broom as the replacement for Ross Taylor, who was ruled out due to an injury. “With 12 years of domestic cricket under his belt and having previously spent time in the BLACKCAPS squad, Neil brings a lot of experience to the group,” quoted Larsen.

“Neil was the top run-scorer in the Ford Trophy competition last year, with an average of 84.66. He has an impressive strike-rate and obviously fills the number four role with Ross out injured,” added Larsen. Larsen called Ronchi as the best wicket-keeper for New Zealand at the moment.

“It’s been pleasing to see Luke scoring runs for Wellington again and he returns as one one of the most experienced members of the squad. At this stage we see him as the best ODI gloveman in the country and the leadership he brings to the group is also immensely valuable,” said Larsen.

Kane Williamson will lead the team. New Zealand are going with full strength to face Bangladesh. New Zealand have lost their last two ODI series against Australia and India. They lost 3-0 and 3-2 against Australia and India respectively.

New Zealand Squad for ODI series: Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Neil Broom, Lockie Ferguson, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, James Neesham, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee