Sri Lanka to host India and Bangladesh for Triseries – Scooptimes

Sri Lanka will the host India and Bangladesh to play the Tri-nation T20I series. The series will be played in March next year to celebrate Sri Lanka’s 70th Independence Day.

The series will be played from March 15 to 31, 2018. It will be played for the Nidhas Trophy. Nidhas means Independence which is a Sanskrit word. The first-round of the series involves 6 games, each team will play two games and the top two teams will qualify for the finals.

Sri Lankan Cricket President Thilanga Sumathipala said,”We celebrate the 70th year of our independence next year and SLC also completes 70 years in 2018. We are happy that both BCCI and BCB have confirmed their participation for the tri-nation series.”

“We are keen to invite the Indian and Bangladesh Prime Minister as well for the finals of this event,” Sumathipala added.

Johri said,”SLC President said that how the Sri Lankan team won the Indian independence Cup in 1997 and we are waiting to return the favour.” “On behalf of the BCCI, I would like to mention that we are proud to be part of this event,” Johri added.

In July 2017, India will tour to Sri Lanka to play three Tests, five ODIs and two T20Is.