Top 5 Teams with most wins in T20 World Cup – Scooptimes

Top 5 Teams with most wins in T20 World Cup : The first T20 World Cup was held in 2007. ICC T20 World Cup was decided to play every two years. In 2007, India defeated Pakistan in the inaugural edition of T20 World Cup in South Africa. So far, five editions have taken place after the inaugural World T20 in 2007. In T20 cricket, sometimes single player can win the match single-handedly. But most of the times team effort is important. Check out the list of Top 5 Teams with most wins in T20 World Cup.

Australia – 14 wins

Australia have played 25 matches and won 14 matches. This team has lost 11 matches and some of these have been in knockout matches. They had a chance to lift the T20 World Cup trophy in 2010, but they lost the final against England. They never won the T20 World Cup title. But, now they have many dangerous players in their squad, this time Australia have a chance to win this title first time.

South Africa – 16 wins

South Africa has produced many world class T20 cricket players but they never won the T20 World Cup trophy. South Africa has played 26 matches in World T20 and won 16 matches. The team has experienced 10 defeats. South Africa had a chance to reach the final in 2009, but they lost the semi-final against Pakistan by just 7 runs. The same team reached semi-final last year but Virat Kohli’s brilliant innings kicked out them from the tournament.

India – 17 wins

India won the first T20 World Cup in 2007 which is held in South Africa and the very next year India introduced IPL in T20 format. India has played 28 matches and registered 17 wins and 9 defeats. India failed to qualify for the semi-finals in 2009, 2010 and 2012. In 2014, India came back strongly and reached the final, but unfortunately they lost the final against Sri Lanka. Now India has been in tremendous form and India are the favourites to win this World Cup again.

Pakistan – 18 wins

Pakistan has played 30 matches and registered 18 wins, 11 defeats. This team has really done well in T20 World Cup. After losing the final against India in 2007, they won the T20 World Cup trophy in 2009 by defeating Sri Lanka in England. 2014 is the only time they failed to reach the semi-final. Pakistan has been in poor form in recent times and it seems this team will fail again to reach the semi-final in India.

Sri Lanka- 21 wins

Sri Lanka is the most consistent team in T20 World Cup. They failed to reach the semis in 2007 edition and came back strongly. This team lost the final againt Pakistan in 2009. In 2010 and 2012, they lost the final against England and West Indies respectively. And finally this team lifted the trophy in 2014 final by defeating India in Dhaka.